Trouble with “/etc/X11/xorg.conf”

Heya… It’s been a long long time since my last post in here. I’m sorry, I went totally haywire from the Linux world… Only Academics and all that Master’s Degree plans… 😛

Well, Since 2 weeks, I’m back with my Linux box tweaks. Tonight, At very early hours, I was trying to install the new nVidia Driver into my machine. They have closed the rpm repository so the installation is a complex procedure now… You’ve to configure the xorg.conf file, then close the X server, and then, another problem may arise if you don’t have any precompiled kernel but only the binary image of it. I had, unfortunately nVidia installation software stopped me right there and as it was very late, I was gearing up for bed, then the bolt came from the blue.

I tried to restore my X server back by [ALT+F7] and it failed, giving a quick and scrolled error message. What I guessed that, It has something to do with what I’ve changed.

/etc/X11/xorg.conf

I just checked, what was wrong with that, ( I had my command line shell 🙂 )and I found I’ve left the server name in

Section “Device”
Identifier  “Videocard0”
Driver      “nvidia”
EndSection ,

The root of the problem was the word, nvidia. Which I recalled, earlier was, nv. Actually what happened, HAL didn’t find any device named nvidia… that’s it so X server failed.

I changed that. and restarted.

Everything worked fine, until the login screen. I was shocked to see that my keyboard is not working! 😦

I logged into my root accnt by help of on-screen keyboard and again oened the xorg.conf file. There I found,

# keyboard added by rhpxl
Identifier  “Keyboard0”
Driver      “nvidia”
Option        “XkbModel” “pc105”
Option        “XkbLayout” “us”
EndSection

How silly of me… 😦 I’ve mistakenly put the keyboard driver also as nvidia which was earlier, intuitively, “kbd”

I changed that and restarted again.. and Whoa… Life is peaceful once again.. ! 😀

Motto of the text : Always have a backup file while tweaking with system files !

Hope this experience will someday be a help to you… 🙂 Signing off… Need a sleep seriously… 😀 … Good Night… or rather, mornin’.. 🙂

Love you sweetheart… 🙂

Leave a Reply

